Luxury studio apartment on a brand new houseboat.
- Brand new
- High level of finishing
What better way is there than to sleep on a houseboat during your stay in Amsterdam? As soon as you enter the houseboat, you will experience the quietness and serenity of the water surrounding you. You have a private entrance with walls of 7(!) meters height. The studio apartment has all the comfort you need: a queen size bed, TV, wifi, minibar, Nespresso machine, water boiler and a beautiful bathroom.
The exclusive studio apartment is part of the bigger houseboat as you can see in the picture taken from the water. This houseboat is brand new, architecturally designed and the studio apartment you can rent has just recently been completed (December 2017). It's separated from the rest of the houseboat, has it's own private entrance and is beautifully finished.
There's a Nespresso machine and a water boiler both to your convenience. You can also make use of the minibar to cool things.
Toegang voor gasten
You're free to use the garden in front of the houseboat.
About the area
The neighborhood is one of the best areas to stay in Amsterdam. It's safe, quit and yet within walking (or biking) distance from the Jordaan and city center. Supermarket, nice places for lunch and restaurants are all nearby. Also the 'Westerpark' where you can take a walk and enjoy the activities there, is just a stone's throw away.
I'm a traveller and love living on the water!
6 Reviews - Castle Black
Johannes H - Germany
We had a very nice time a t the Castle Black, very tasteful interiour, a very kind landlord, uncomplicated till the end. Lg. Johannes
We had a very nice time a t the Castle Black, very tasteful house and interiour, a very kind landlord, uncomplicated till the end. Lg. Johannes
Salimata - France
Lovely stay at Jack's houseboat in Amsterdam
We had a very lovely stay at Jack's houseboat. It is a beautiful, clean and new studio on the edge of the water: really very nice!
Jochem - the Netherlands
Brand new and very comfortable houseboat
The apartment at jacks brand new and very comfortable houseboat was as described. I absolutely do can recommend it. We had a very nice stay there in Amsterdam.
Sharon O - Australia
The houseboat was as advertised in most aspects but misleading and therefore disappointing in its actual description of canal living. The houseboat was very clean and modern and well appointed but describe it as a studio apartment is generous, a more accurate description would be a room with an adjoining bathroom. The actual room is accessed by a steep flight of steps that lead to a below water level accommodation, the only openable window is 2 metres above floor height and just above water level, you cannot look outside the window without standing on a chair. You have no access to the rest of the houseboat and therefore cannot view the canal in anyway even when you are outside the houseboat. The neighbouring boats are so close you cannot view any aspect of the canal unless you walk 300 metres past all the boats to finally view the canal. In reality even though the accommodation is modern, new and very clean it could in no way be described as canal lifestyle, it is merely a small room with absolutely no sense of location once inside, in effect you could be in any small room in a building anywhere. If you have visions of spending days on a deck viewing canal lifestyle going slowly past you will be sadly disappointed as you can see nothing at all without access to the main body of the houseboat to which you are currently prohibited. At best it can be described as clean accommodation to sleep in, in reality very disappointing.
Reply from the host:"First of all I’m sorry to hear not all of your expectations were met. It’s the first time I receive negative feedback. Normally guests are very satisfied with the combination of accommodation, location and price. If I understand correctly you were expecting to have access to a deck for viewing the canal and access to the rest of the houseboat. However this is not the case as I stated in the description of the houseboat. What I understand from other guests is that they value the feeling of quietness and serenity of sleeping below water level. Again, I’m sorry you experienced this in a different way. I’m glad however you valued the accommodation being clean, modern and well appointed. And I sincerely hope you also enjoyed the garden and moreover your stay in Amsterdam."
Carolyn H - Wales
Holiday at Castle Black
We enjoyed our stay at the houseboat,lovely peaceful surroundings and only a short bus ride to the city,bikes were available from Jack if required,a small table and a couple of chairs outside would have been nice,but nevertheless it was a beautifully maintained houseboat.