La Estrella - two floor wheelhouse apartment

Luxury 2 floor apartment in a former fishing boat. Located near Central Station, NieuwMarkt Area.

Excellent! 4.5/5 (16 reviews)

Houseboat highlights

  1. Two story houseboat apartment
  2. Superb location near Central Station
  3. Wonderful panoramic views
  1. Very cozy interior
  2. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby

Houseboat summary

This houseboat apartment has two faces, both beautiful. On the top level you can enjoy wonderful panoramic views from the large wheelhouse with large open kitchen and dining area. The forecastle, the lower part of the ship, offers a very warm and cozy sleeping area, a bathroom with a shower and a separate toilet. A wonderful combination that will surely help creating everlasting memories. And the location? Could not be better: literally just minutes walking away from Amsterdam Central Station, opposite OBA, Nemo, NieuwMarkt.

Houseboat description

This massive steel fishing boat was built just a few months after WW2 ended. After decades of sailing the waves of the North Sea, the ship ended up in Amsterdam, making it one of the few real seaworthy ships in town. Many nautical elements aboard still remind of the time when she used to conquer the fierce winds and high waves. The wheelhouse once was the headquarters of the skipper and the bedroom used to be the place where massive diesel engines were pounding away. Quite a difference with the calm atmosphere we have created here now. If you peek through the portholes in the bedroom you can still see the original skin of the boat, all hand made.

Downstairs you will find the warmly decorated bedroom with two double beds and two single beds. This makes the Estrella suitable for both couples and friends traveling together, as well as families who want to have an unforgettable houseboat experience in Amsterdam. Although we could technically host 6 persons, we only allow a maximum of 4 guests due to local legislation. Note that we only welcome children of 6 years and older. 

From the big wheelhouse you have a great panoramic view over the water and many ships and barges that are docked in our harbor. Just look at the warehouses on the quay and you will sense the rich history of our harbor. This harbor is where the VOC ships docked during the golden age, unloading spices and other valuables from 'The East'. We hope that during your stay with us you will enjoy one another and the pleasures our neighborhood and our city offers. This is why we do not have televisions or radio's on board. But for the ones who can not live without (social) media, we do offer excellence fast WiFi. The only thing you have to do is bring your own mobile(smart)phone or tablet/computer with you.

The fully equipped kitchen is situated conveniently on one side of the wheelhouse, with the dining area and lounge corner on the other side. Although the kitchen is modern and quite luxurious, there is still a nautical atmosphere in this part of the ship. 

The bathroom has a shower, sink and separate toilet and works just like in any other apartment (except we kindly ask never to throw anything else in the toilet except toilet paper to avoid damage to the pump).

And to finish off: just sit back and relax on the terrace , while the city life passes by in the distance. 

On request we can arrange private parking. Furthermore we offer:

* Free wifi

* Central heating

* Hot water

* Drinking water

* Bed linen and towels

* Hairdryer

* Docking station for iPhone, iPad and MP3

* Safe neighborhood with kind neighbors

* Top location

* Swans and ducks passing by on a daily basis 

Book now

Details

Property type

Moored houseboat

Payment policy

Cancellation policy

Security deposit

$386

Check in/out time

Check in between 15:00 and 00:00.

Check out before 11:00.

Bedrooms

1 Bedroom, 4 Sleeps

Number of double beds: 2

 

The bathroom is located next to the bedroom in the former engine room. Here you find a comfortable shower along with a sink and separate toilet. 

Bathrooms

Number of en-suite: 1
Number of toilets: 1

Holiday Type

Beach
Nightlife
Historic / Sightseeing
Town / City

Family
Lake / Riverside
Romantic
Sporting Activities

Amenities

Fully Equipped Kitchen
Microwave / Oven
Toaster
Linen Provided

Towels Provided
Iron
Dining Table & Chairs

Entertainment

Music System / CD Player
WiFi / Internet

Internet Access

Outdoor Facilities

Garden

Terrace / Balcony

Heating / Cooling

Central Heating

Electric Fans

Location

Panoramic Views
City Views

Close To The Shops
Close To The Ariport

Our houseboat is docked in a peaceful harbor just a few minutes walking from Amsterdam Central Station.

Activities Nearby

Swimminig / Watersports
Walking / Hiking
Fishing

Climbing
Cycling / Mountain Biking

Location

Distances

Airport

25 km

Bar

0 km

Beach

25 km

Ferry port

0 km

Motor way

2 km

Night club

0 km

Restaurant

0 km

Super market

0 km

Train station

0 km

How to get there

Getting to the houseboat from the Central Station is super easy. After booking you will receive a MAP with the exact description how to find the boat.

About the area

Our area is defined by one of the oldest harbors in Amsterdam. For centuries sailing ships have docked here, leaving a lasting footprint. Not only the harbor itself, but also the warehouses and of course the red light district are typical locations that belong to a naval hot spot. 

 

Although the ship is located super central, you will be impressed by the tranquility that is found here. No tourist masses passing by, but a laid back and almost rural atmosphere. 

Book now

Houseboat owner

Laura

We live on boats and we love boats.

Response time
Normally within one hour
Language spoken
English

16 Reviews - La Estrella - two floor wheelhouse apartment

Excellent! 4.5/5

  1. Zoey - Australia

    22 Feb

    Best choice I made in years

    During our visit to Amsterdam we were so lucky to stay at La Estrella. This modern houseboat apartment, fully private, offers everything you need for an unforgettable and romantic holiday. It is the second time we visited Amsterdam, and the houseboat was a true big plus compared to the first time. THe place is light, modern and very comfortable. A one of a kind love nest!

  2. Pablo - Argentina

    11 Sep

    wonderful

    Our time in your boat was wonderful. The boat was perfect and very clean. Thank you very much.  I told it to al my friends!

  3. Charmaine S - New Zealand

    15 Oct

    La Eteralla houseboat in Amsterdam

    Terrible! No sheets on the bed. A total fire risk tired between three other boats, no privacy and totally not what was explained on an advert. I would not recommend it at all. LOADS of rules.... not relaxing at all.... total dump!

    Owner answer:

    Dear Charmaine, we have expected "a bad review" from you. When your host told you that a late check out after 18:00 hours was not possible that day, you'promised' her that you will write one.
    Usually, we are very flexible with the check-in/out times. But, if there are guests arriving after you, we need time to clean the boat. We are really sorry that because of this, we could not let you stay as long as you wanted.
    That day, and during your entire stay, it was continuously raining in Amsterdam. We understand that this was a real bummer. Your host who told you that you could have booked an extra half a day to secure a late check-out did not notice that you did not like the boat. How horrible was the boat, if you even requested to stay longer?

    We understand that you did not like our house rules about smoking onboard and that it is frustrating to have to smoke outside in the rain. But to try to demolish the fire alarm, which is placed there to protect you from a fire, and then complain that the boat is not fired proof, does sound strange.
    When the fire alarm started to beep (super loud) because of you smoke inside, your host came immediately to check and switch it of. A fast reaction as a courtesy to our guests, and VIP service, we would say. Of course, you may call it 'a lack of privacy on board', no offense.

    But not to notice that there are sheets on beds... -how and why would we ever forget the sheets which protect our luxurious mattresses? - is a real enigma for us. It makes us wonder what you have been smoking. No offense either."

  4. Barbara - Canada

    24 Sep

    Thanks for everything!

    We loved the boat and had a lovely time in Amsterdam. We will definitely stay there again if we ever come back.

  5. Victoria - England

    05 Jul

    5 Star houseboat near the station

    I absolutely loved the boat. I could see in the pictures it was the real thing and it was indeed. I will give a five star revue with pleasure -thats exactly what it deserves! Full of beautiful details. I will not doubt to contact you directly if im ever back in Amsterdam.   Best, Victoria
  6. Tatiana P - Russian Federation

    09 Apr

    Perfect

    Everything is great! Good location, beautiful boat, cozy and clean. 

  7. Jørn J - Denmark

    26 Aug

    En oase midt i Amsterdam

    Rart at kunne trække sig tilbage i hyggelige omgivelser.

    Ingen larm fra byen når du først er i soveafdelingen.

  8. Wolfgang - Germany

    29 Jun

    Superb houseboat holiday in Amsterdam

    We enjoyed the days with our friends on the boat. I'm sure we will come back on board...

    Warm regard from Wolfgang

  9. Kate S - England

    12 Mar

    Boathouse stay

    * Wonderful accommodation in the perfect location.

    * Great stay on this houseboat 

    * Would definitely book again!

    * Thank you for having us!  

  10. Francisco A - the United States

    10 Aug

    Great House Boat

    La Estrella Houseboat is an excellent choice, if you are taking family or by yourself. Everyone around is very nice and the boats are pretty well kept. We really enkoyed our stay and are looking forward to returning soon. Thank you Lisa for your time and effort invested in our reservation.

  11. Philippe B - France

    06 Nov

    Super Houseboat near Nemo

    A houseboat very well located. Perfect reception and service. I recommend it

  12. Www.bookahouseboat.com - the Netherlands

    02 Oct

    Attention: Owner recently cancelled a 4-night booking.
  13. Connie S - Australia

    14 Jul

    Great location!

    Lovely little spot close to everything and pretty quiet too. 

    We did miss having wifi, but enjoyed our experience overall. 

  14. Steve - England

    05 Jul

    Loved the boat - loved the location

    We loved the boat and location.  Our only complaint is that we could not stay longer.  Next time we come through Amsterdam, we will definitely be looking for another chance to stay with you!
  15. Donal - Australia

    24 Sep

    Wonderful!

     We had a wonderful stay in the houseboat and are just about to fly home today from London.  I will definitely look you up again if we're back in Amsterdam.    All the best,   Donal
  16. Jenny A - Germany

    14 Apr

    beautiful place to stay in Amsterdam

    wonderful houseboat, centrally located, and a very nice housekeeper

  17. Peter V - Belgium

    31 Oct

    Beautiful boat in central location

    La Estrella is a boat with two apartments. The one we rented was the one with the cabin and thus had two floors. On the top floor is the kitchen and living room which is perfect for at least 4 people. Downstairs are 2 double beds and 2 single, a shower and a toilet. The interior is cozy and what you would expect for a refurbished boat. The service was correct. The location of the boat is really top, very close to the central station, the NEMO Science museum, the Artis zoo, etc. We enjoyed the experience!

Stayed here? Why not write a review?
Support