El Diamante - Central, spacious and luxurious houseboat

Be welcome aboard your private very luxurious watervilla on a hotspot in town.

Excellent! 4.5/5 (8 reviews)

Houseboat highlights

  1. Romantic and big apartment near Central Station
  2. Two floors of comfort and luxury
  3. Contemporary design with eye for detail
  1. Safe and relaxed neighborhood
  2. Perfect for couples in love
  3. Large terrace swimming sunbathing SUP-boards

Houseboat summary

Our houseboat truly feels like a diamond, shining bright in one of the oldest harbors of the city, just three minutes walking from Central Station. As soon as you walk through your private entrance, you enter a world of comfort, love and luxury. You do not share any facilities; the whole two story floating apartment is all yours. We live next door together with Kees our dog.

Houseboat description

A true eye-catcher of the watervilla is the rugged steel stairs with an integrated fire place on each floor that seems to grow right through the whole houseboat. Also in the kitchen we have used lots of steel and stone to create a cool, tough atmosphere. Yet, the large windows and sliding door let in lots of light. The happy red kitchen table give the whole place a happy touch, putting a broad smile on your face as soon as you enter the boat.

The location is just perfect. When arriving at Central Station it is just a three minute walk before you arrive at the boat. This is a lovely short walk along the water, and it gives a good first impression of our beloved city. On arrival we warmly welcome you aboard 'El Diamante'.

On the top floor you have access to the comfortable and light living room with a sitting and dining area. Go down the stairs to enter another great space. On the lower deck you will find the central room with adjacent large bedroom with large and comfortable double bed. Also this area has lots of windows and portholes, letting in lots of day light. Furthermore there is one extra double sofa bed.

The bathroom is designed to fully indulge yourself and have a real spa-experience. The bath is our favorite place. Not in the least because of the idea that you're taking a bath below water level: a wonderful place to relax after an exciting day in town. 

Last but not least let me tell you something about the area where we live. This stationary houseboat is docked along the quay of a charming, picturesque harbor - literally minutes away from the buzzing city center. Yet the area is nice and quiet at night, without tourist masses passing by. It is a true hidden gem right within the city. Around the corner you find the Amsterdam Central Station, on the other side of the water there is an amazing floating Chinese restaurant, the city library, and the Nemo science museum. Also within a few minutes walking there is the red light district, Nieuwmarkt, Dam Square etc. 

Before you book, please note: kids below 6 years old are not allowed on board - babies are.

Book now

Details

Property type

Moored houseboat

Payment policy

Cancellation policy

Security deposit

$414

Check in/out time

Check in between 15:00 and 00:00.

Check out before 11:00.

Bedrooms

1 Bedroom, 4 Sleeps

Number of double beds: 1
Number of sofa beds: 1

 

The bathroom is located in the lower part of our houseboat and offers a high level of comfort. There is floored heating, a large bath and a shower for your convenience. There is also a separate toilet upstairs.

Bathrooms

Number of toilets: 1

Holiday Type

Nightlife
Historic / Sightseeing
Town / City
Family

Lake / Riverside
Romantic
Sporting Activities

Amenities

Fully Equipped Kitchen
Microwave / Oven
Toaster
Linen Provided

Towels Provided
Iron
Hair Dryer
Dining Table & Chairs

Upon request we will do your laundry.

Entertainment

WiFi / Internet

Internet Access

Outdoor Facilities

Garden

Terrace / Balcony

Our waters are very clean you can jump in and swim when ever you like. You can also use our sup-boards and go for a walk on the waters of Amsterdam

Heating / Cooling

Central Heating
Room Fans

Electric Fans

Thanks to the floor heating you are assured to be comfortably warm all year round. Even on the coldest winter days.

Location

Panoramic Views
City Views
Close To The Beach

Close To The Shops
Close To The Ariport

General

Bathtub
Shower

Sofa Bed
TV

Check In after 15:00
Check Out before 11:00
But, if there are no guests arriving / departing the same day we are flexible.
We charge 20 EUR for a late check in after 19:00 , and 30 EUR for a very late check in after 00:00 hours.

Activities Nearby

Swimminig / Watersports
Walking / Hiking
Fishing

Climbing
Cycling / Mountain Biking

Services

Babysitting
Tour Guide
Airport Collection Available

Maid Service
Chauffers Service

The bathroom is located in the lower part of our houseboat and offers a high level of comfort. There is floored heating and a shower for your convenience.

Location

Distances

Airport

25 km

Bar

0.1 km

Beach

25 km

Ferry port

0.6 km

Golf course

5 km

Motor way

2 km

Night club

1 km

Restaurant

0.1 km

Super market

0.6 km

Train station

0.5 km

How to get there

From the moment you arrive at Central Station it is just a few minutes walking to reach our houseboat. Of course we will share the exact details after your booking is confirmed. 

About the area

Our neighborhood is defined by one of the oldest harbors of Amsterdam. Not only the harbor, but also the old buildings and of course the red light district are typical locations that belong to a naval hot spot.  

Although the ship is located super central, you will be impressed by the tranquility that is found here. No tourist masses passing by, but a laid back and almost rural atmosphere. 

Book now

Houseboat owner

Kate

We live on boats and we love boats.

Response time
Normally within one hour
Language spoken
English

8 Reviews - El Diamante - Central, spacious and luxurious houseboat

Excellent! 4.5/5

  1. Michael And Jodi R - the United States

    11 May

    Ship Shape!!

    This place has plenty of space, gorgeous views and has an easy location.  With a full kitchen that is open to large sliding door views and seating, you will not be disappointed!

  2. Maria Paula P - Brazil

    17 Oct

    Maria paula review Show original

    The boathouse is amazing. Beautiful, functional. The location is so great, near the red-light district, but in a very quiet area. Everything was clean and the kitchen is complete.

    Unforgettable days!!

  3. Susan S - England

    08 Sep

    Stunning!

    We had the most amazing time in Amsterdam. This was partly due to Amsterdam itself, but also due to the houseboat. This is a very special houseboat. The view over the water to Central and St Nicholas was fab. I was never too tired of watching the water, the light, and the ducks! And although you are in the middle of Amsterdam, this boat is very private. We felt very at home, like real Amsterdammers rather than tourists. I would recommend this boat to anyone. 

  4. Jason - England

    22 Nov

    Warm personal and unique houseboat in Amsterdam centre

    We were so lucky to stay in this wonderful houseboat, at just a stones throw away from the station, yet in a surprisingly quiet neighborhood. This little houseboat community feels like a village in a big city - very welcoming! You can sense the love in every detail that the owners put into it. I mean, the fireplaces in the staircase are simply award winning material if you ask me. As an architect I truly appreciate the thoughts they put into this. Without a doubt the most amazing privately owned holiday rental we ever stayed. The pics speak for themselves, but in real life the whole deal is even better. Really worth every penny, super highly recommended!

  5. Anna B - Finland

    08 May

    The diamond Show original

    Please change the way you welcome and communicate with your  guests. Instructions were mostly about what is not allowed and what you cannot do on the boat. Got strong feeling that the stuff is tired of tourists. After we left the totally cleaned boat (even left flowers) I got a message from Kate: "the cleaning lady texted me (Kate) there were ashes all over the place!". This type of communicating, excuse me? And we never used the forbidden fire places! Dish washer was broken (sorry we forgot to tell you our last guests broke it and it was not on the list). This type of communicating makes me sad. Where are your good manners and hospitality? Will not recommend this boat. Yet, we had a great time because we were able to spend time together as family celebrating my dad's 91th birthday. Also pls change new soap bars after previous guests.

    Owner reply 

    Dear  Anna,

    We are very happy to hear that your fathers 91st birthday was a success. This was the reason that we allowed you to stay on the Diamond boat, to make it easier for him to move around. You have originally booked a much simpler, less luxurious boat, and we did not charge you anything extra. But, we told you that it's not possible that our cleaner does every day your dishes and after party cleaning as well for free. Also, we told you that fire places can not be used any longer, since it is discovered that they produce fine dust which is polluting the air and damaging the health of people in Amsterdam. We are in the process of installing filters to solve the issue, but you have never the less used them, and did not even bother to clean the ashes! People who live on boats usually care about the nature. So do we. This is why we do not throw away soap bars that are still good; nor use 6 towels per day, neither produce mountains of dishes for each meal. We do not throw cigarettes in the waters and we do not allow smoking on board. After thanking us and sending us every day photo's of each and every place that you have visited in Amsterdam, we are really sorry that communication with us made you sad, when we reminded you of some of the rules that exist on board.

    With all the best wishes to your father and your family

    Nina

12
Stayed here? Why not write a review?
Support