Classic Paris Péniche

Beautiful classic houseboat in the center of Paris, near Concorde!

Good 4.3/5 (20 reviews)

Houseboat highlights

  1. Wooden 70s interiour
  2. Center of Paris
  3. Warm, spacious and cozy
  1. Outside terrace
  2. Classic riverboat

Houseboat summary

This classic riverboat is moored right in the middle of Paris, in the 8th arrondissement, between Place de la Concorde and the Grand Palais. It is also one of the oldest marinas in Paris. Though the port is very calm and secure (but still don't leave your stuff outside when you are not there), within walking distance of many amazing sights and roaring nightlife, this péniche will give you the experience in Paris you want! 

Houseboat description

This classic péniche has its interior made in 70s, in the Netherlands. Since it is all wood, the interior is very rustic. Specially in the summer, when you can also open many windows. In the winter, the central heating makes sure you experience nothing from the winter cold outside. As the heat diffuses through the wood, the péniche will be warm and cozy. If you like very neat interiors or very modern and new ones, you are not at the good place. We are more rustic and authentic :)

NB : the pictures have been taken with a panoramic camera. When you will see the boat in reality, it can look a bit smaller that you have imagined.

It is very easy to reach, as there are many stations for bus and metro nearby. 

Musée d'Orsay, le Grand Palais, Jardin des Tuileries, le Louvre, le Avenue des Champs-Elysées: these are all places that are walking distance from the boat! 

The boat has a fully equiped kitchen, internet, TV and a washing machine. There is a terrace/sundeck that allows you to have lunch or dinner outside while having a gorgeous view of the energetic city around you.

Come stay, and experience Paris the way you should!

Book now

Details

Property type

Moored houseboat

Payment policy

Cancellation policy

Security deposit

$330

Check in/out time

Please, ask owner

Bedrooms

2 Bedrooms, 4 Sleeps

Number of double beds: 1
Number of sofa beds: 1

 

Bedrooms :

- the captain bedroom is equiped with a 140x200 bed.

- the sailors bedroom is equiped with 2 bunk beds.

 

The bathroom is equiped with a shower circular cabin.

Bathrooms

Number of toilets: 1

Holiday Type

Nightlife
Historic / Sightseeing
Town / City

Family
Lake / Riverside
Romantic

Amenities

Fully Equipped Kitchen
Dishwasher
Microwave / Oven
Toaster
Washing Machine

Linen Provided
Towels Provided
Iron
Dining Table & Chairs

Entertainment

Music System / CD Player
Satellite / Cable Tv
WiFi / Internet

DVD Player
Internet Access

Outdoor Facilities

Terrace / Balcony

Heating / Cooling

Air Conditioning

Central Heating

Location

Panoramic Views
City Views

Close To The Shops

Location

Houseboat owner

Marc

The houseboat is in the family since the early 1970's. built by our grand uncle. It has been originally restored from a former transport barge active in the Netherlands canals. I have been living on it since 2001.

I myself travel a lot for work, so I prefer to share this place for periods of more than one month, with fellow river lovers!

We enjoy a unique location, and I am sure you will feel here as good as I have for the past years. I know boats and tourisme, so feel free to ask any questions and interest you might have for France, Spain, and the life on boats!

Response time
Normally within 2 hours
Language spoken
French, English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese

20 Reviews - Classic Paris Péniche

Good 4.3/5

  1. Sylvain F - France

    19 Dec

    Guaranteed return

    we had an amazing stay on Marc's boat. The host was very welcoming, trustworthy and organized. The location of this boat is ideal! We slept comfortably with 3 persons. Next time we will definitely return!

  2. Scott J - the United States

    08 Oct

    First time renter

     Mark’s boat was a lovely place to see Paris from Sentry located between the Eiffel Tower and Notre Dame it was easy to get to and a wonderful experience for a first time Parisian visit 

  3. Mark - the Netherlands

    27 Feb

    Great stay at a great houseboat

    It was a great stay at the boat! Super located. We used über everyday too grab some good food. The boat was quit relaxed, clean and enough space for everyone..Thanks

  4. Miguel Angel P - Spain

    04 May

    All great !!!

    Thanks Marc for your kindness and help.

  5. Saskia L - Australia

    24 Jun

    Pros and cons

    Pros: Great location; novel experience being on a Peniche. Easy check in/out. Good price for location. Spacious enough for our family. We really enjoyed eating on the deck.

    Cons: Boat is quite run down - compared to the photos, a bit shabby and smelled very musty (we had to wash all of our clothes when we got to the next place because of the smell).  It was advertised as having Air- conditioning - not the case. A fan was offered but wasn't functional. 

    Suggestions: The Peniche has a lot of character, and potential. Deal with the dampness which is probably causing the smell with a bit of minor maintenance i.e.: power points - not all seem to be working; windows.

  6. Olivier L - France

    03 Nov

    Amazing experience

    To put shortly: the host is amazing, the boat is great, and of course Paris is amazing. Unique experience!

  7. Nicole L - Australia

    23 Oct

    Great experience, great location

    We had a great time on Marc’s boat. Just wish we had more time on the boat to soak up the atmosphere. The internet wasn’t working and Marc turned up with his spare iPhone for us to hotspot. 

    Great for anyone wanting an unique real life experience. 

  8. Lorna K - France

    21 Jan

    What a spot

    We had such a special time on Joel. Perfect location. Lovely neighbours. Peace and quiet. - amazing given it's in the centre of Paris!  Marc and his wife were quick to respond to any questions. Thanks for sharing your treasure with us. 

  9. Penelope P - Australia

    05 Jun

    Unforgettable Stay in Paris

    We all thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay on your house boat Marc. its was everything and more that we expected. Great location, easy to go anywhere on foot or by train. would definitely stay here again and no hestiation in recommendeding it to others.

  10. Www.bookahouseboat.com - France

    31 Jul

    Attention: Owner recently cancelled a 3-night booking.
  11. Sarah - Belgium

    13 Feb

    Absolute stunning houseboat

    WOW! I have to say that this was quite an experience. I live in Belgium and visit Paris quite often, but decided to go for something different for this visit, and different it was! Marc's boat is absolutely stunning and beyond comfortable (and quite cozy)- so much so you wouldn't know you're staying on a boat- all that was missing was a fireplace! Unfortunately we weren't able to take advantage of the rooftop seating as the weather was quite cold, but in the summer this would definitely be the ideal airbnb to let! Absolutely fantastic stay- no complaints at all, easy in, easy out! Lovely time!

  12. Brenda W - New Zealand

    25 Nov

    Classy accommodation in best part of Paris

    My husband and I stayed a delightful 9 nights in the Classic Paris Peniche, enjoying the charm of this cosy, classic boat. The kitchen was well set up so we cooked quite a few meals, roast duck in the oven, and bought store salads and fresh vegetables and wine. In some ways the boat was the highlight of our visit. We walked to all the best sights ... but sitting on the deck watching passing boats was more fun. The kitchen made it cost-effective... more money to spend on clothes and entertainment. Antique books and crafted wood details made it full of character. You are really in the Paris of Amelie. 

  13. Www.bookahouseboat.com - France

    21 Jul

    Attention: Owner recently cancelled a 3-night booking.
  14. Jan L - Germany

    03 May

    Incredibly Unique Location in Central Paris

    The Peniche Joel is just incredible. We loved every single minute spending on this lovely houseboat. With many elaborate details and accessories it's fully equipped with everything you need including a great kitchen and a warm shower. It's very practical that you can park just next to the boat. The boat keeper gave us a warm welcome. Nice and cosy for up to 4 people. It's just FANTASTIC!
  15. Meredith M - the United States

    10 Mar

    Classic Paris Peniche

    Charming and wonderful!

  16. Ian M - England

    17 Apr

    Mixed!

    The initial booking didn’t go too well due to myself sending 4 emails to the owner all without response ... this I understand being an issue between the owner and the booking company ...I did however receive a response 1 working day prior to leaving and but only once I had threatened legal action.

    Once on the 3 day break I received numerous calls and text from the owner/owners asking when we were leaving which partially spoilt the break as clearly from the communications the owners were expecting us to leave a day earlier than we had paid for.

    Also a little bit disconcerting was that people unknown went on the deck of the boat and on one occasion stole some personal possessions and on another rearranged the furniture.

    The boat is located right next to Pont Concord where underneath a vagrant sleeps and defecates/urinates right next to your vehicle ... one morning I offered him some food and received a very aggressive response.... do not feed the vagrants would be my advice! 

    The location is 100% for everything ....get a 20€ taxi boat ticket that lasts for 2 days to see all the local Seine based attractions. The houseboat is what could be described as ‘rustic’ and we enjoyed it very much ... it takes some getting used to but a very enjoyable experience which we will not be repeating due to the aforementioned issues around communication/vagrants and also the theft of the personal belongings (maybe our fault for leaving them on show though). 

    Prices for food in Paris are extortionate .... the 15% mandatory service charge doesn’t help especially when the largest item on the bill is the service charge .... £75 equals a service charge of £11.25 which was on occasion the largest item on the bill - £11.25 for less than 4 minutes work (I timed it!) and so it’s not a tip/service charge but a money making scam especially when the service was poor and surly. A crepe, an omelette, one beer and one coke 46€ .... be careful! 

    Response from the host: 

    Dear Ian, I'm sorry to hear that you did not have the experience you expected to have. Let me respond to your points above.

    CONCERNING THE PRE ARRIVAL CONTACTS : We are sorry about the fact that we could not answer to the contacts of the guest, but we had a problem receiving notifications from the platform that he tried to contact with us. In fact we don’t receive notifications from it, and sometimes they arrive in the « trash » section of the email. We just changed that by using our personal address for BookaHouseboat contacts, and this kind of problem should not happen again. We also had to leave Paris for work reasons on Sunday 8 because to Morocco, and were therefore a bit slower to get everything sorted. We nonetheless had someone there taking care of all the arrival process. 

    CONCERNING THE CALLS REGARDING LEAVING TIME: we called the guest because I misunderstood the departure dates. In fact, our boat is on renting on different platforms, and therefore we sometimes get confused about which bookings are when! As soon as I understood that I was mistaken I apologized to our guest. In total I might have sent three messages (two on the phone and the rest through the BookaHouseboat platform), and tried to call twice. Again, sorry about that, will be more careful in the future that this does not happen again. 

    CONCERNING THE THEFT : The boat is on the quay side, and the quay access is public. when weather is good, many people walk around enjoying the beautiful environment and the river ambiance.  Nonetheless, it is accessible for people from the walk side. I just want to emphasize that the deck and the boat are two separate spaces, as someone coming on deck will not be able to access the inside of the boat if entry door is locked. We will still inform people in the future to be careful not to leave any unattended objects or personal belonging on deck.  We are available in Paris to do any legal/police complaints that the guest might deem necessary in order to start an enquiry and hopefully find his possessions. 

    CONCERNING THE VAGRANT : in fact one vagrant has been staying under the bridge for a few weeks now. But as in most countries and cities in the world that happens, and we try not to throw them away and signal them to health authorities in order for them to know he is there. For the defecation and urines, unfortunately sometimes people use the hidden space to do their stuff, and we know about that, and clean it as soon as we can. sorry for this issue again. About his aggressiveness, we can’t know about it, but leave to people the choice making contact or not with vagrant they might encounter during their trips. 

    CONCERNING THE RUSTIC ASPECT OF THE BOAT: happy to know that he enjoyed it, in fact it takes some time to get used to the fact that the boat moves. We do our best to keep the boat in its original aspect, meaning all the wood and not to put too modern furniture in order to offer the best authentic experience to our guests. We are also constantly trying to improve the comfort, as we are doing all the painting new at the end of April for instance. 

    CONCERNING PRICE OF THE FOOD: as in any touristic city around the world, and we know that Paris is the number one destination in the world, touristic neighborhood are full of expensive restaurants that tourists might go to. As an advice to any of our future guests, avoid such restaurants as both the quality and the price is definitely not the best. that is why we wrote a complete guide of the best restaurants in the neighborhood. Concerning the mandatory service charge, it depends on the restaurants, and we can’t protect guests from bad experiences, but we are aware that Parisian waiters are not always the most welcoming. Again, that is worst in the touristic neighborhoods. 

    Again, we are very sorry for all that we might have done wrong, and for the bad experiences that you had during his trip. But we have been renting our boat since 2014, and most of our guests were very satisfied about their choice. Again, you will see that for an hotel in the 1km area costs at least 150-200€ / night for one double room, so we think we offer quite a good alternative at a very reasonable rate. 

    We will note all these remarks, and try our best for that not to happen again in the future. We are available to discuss all that when needed. 

  17. Eleonore V - the Netherlands

    22 Aug

    Mixed feelings

    We have mixed feelings about our stay.

    First of all, the location is absolutely perfect. Walking distance from most sites. Also very romatic to sit on deck with a glass of whine just enjoying Paris!. Also very convenient to be able to park the car on the quai next to the barge. We had a great stay.

    We had a bit of bad luck that the pump had broke down so that the water in the shower cabine did not go away. After two days the problem was fixed. In the meantime, we were not able to take a shower. We appreciate the effort from Marc to get te pump repaired. Although we were surprised when the mechanic suddenly appeared on the boat. We were not informed.

    I suggest to do a more proper inspection of the boat before guests arrive.

    We are most dissappointed about the way we left. To be able to leave the quai, the owner must enter a code to open the gate. He can do that from distance. But on the agreed time both owners did not answer the Phone, nor did they open the gate. Luckily we were able to leave along with another car. Strange thing is that Marc has not responded to our message what went wrong.

  18. Alison F - the United States

    02 Nov

    Gorgeous and special way to stay in Paris

    We had a marvelous time on Le Joel.  We had so much fun imagining what it would be like to live on a glamorous boat on the Seine. The location is perfect, close to all the sites but just far off that there aren’t crowds during the day. The boat was clean, warm and cozy, well heated when the nights got cold. We’d happily stay here again. 

  19. Bill H - the United States

    22 May

    Awesome Paris Riverboat Vacation

    The boat is in a great location with easy access to the downtown museums and sites.  Marco was a fantastic host and very responsive once we arrived (email aren't answered timely so call). Sitting on the deck of the boat (seating could be improved) was our favorite spot.  You can walk to the Louvre, Musee D'Orsay, Madeline, St Germain street and other sites in 5 to 10 mins!

    If you haven't stayed on a boat before make sure you ask about the basics ie.: access on & off (yours and any neighbors), does it have AC, head usage procedures, etc.

  20. Andy H - Australia

    17 Jul

    Great stay!

    We had an amazing couple of nights on the boat at, the location is perfect and the boat is tastefully decorated. Highly recommend this as an alternative way to stay in Paris!

  21. Www.bookahouseboat.com - France

    25 Aug

    Attention: Owner recently cancelled a 5-night booking.
  22. Walter - England

    29 Feb

    Lovely warm boat - very welcoming

    We had a great weekend on the boat. It was easily roomy enough for the three of us, and lovely and warm. The kitchen was great, allowing us to cook some meals, though Paris doesn't lack for nice options to buy. The nespresso machine was also welcome! The location was very convenient within walking distance of almost everything we did. Marc was very good at communicating prior to arrival, and very welcoming once we were there.

Stayed here? Why not write a review?
Support